Paris Grocery Seattle

August 7, 2014

Bonjour Les Amis!I adore Paula Wolfert  & while I often use this book in winter, I just found a bunch of summer dishes I want to try.I just got back from a weekend in Portland where I admit to doing nothing French. But I did get to have some amazing tiki drinks at Hale Pele!Come in & see what’s new in the shop & thank you for reading my newsletters.A Bientot,
Catherine Reynolds

 

Yellowfin Tuna with Avocado and Piment D’Espelette from The Cooking of Southwest France  by Paula Wolfert $39.95
I adore Paula Wolfert  & while I often use this book in winter, I just found a bunch of summer dishes I want to try out, this included. Wolfert recommends you keep your remaining piment d’Espelette in the fridge to keep it fresh–you learn something new every day! Open up a bottle of rose & enjoy…

Yields: Serves 2 to 4   

Ingredients:
  1/2 pound sushi-grade yellowfin or ahi tuna, in one piece
2 1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 ruby red grapefruit, peeled, sectioned and diced
Juice of ½ lime
1 pinch of sea salt
 1 good pinch of ground piment d’Espelette 

1 teaspoon toasted pine nuts
1 ripe avocado, peeled
2 large opal basil leaves 

Preparation:
Step 1:
Dry the tuna with paper towels. Heat a nonstick skillet over high heat with a drop of the olive oil. When hot, sear the tuna for 1 minute on each side. With a wide spatula, transfer the tuna to a cutting board and let rest while preparing the vinaigrette.
Step 2:
Gently toss the grapefruit, lime juice, salt, piment d’Espelette, remaining oil, and toasted pine nuts without breaking the grapefruit chunks.
Step 3:
Quarter the avocado or, if desired, thinly slice. Tear basil into small pieces. Thinly slice the tuna. Arrange the avocado and tuna on 2 plates. Spoon the citrus vinaigrette with the chunks of grapefruit over the tuna, scatter basil on top, and serve at once.

 

Domaine Grand Corbiere Gris 2012, Sable de Camargue $12.99 (reg. $14.99)
This is one of the coolest rose’s we currently have  in the shop, imported by a small local company.  A blend of Grenache Gris, Grenache Noir & Syrah from a family of rice farmers. The sandy vineyards sit along the sea shore & I swear you can taste the famous Camargue salt in the wine. Pair with seafood, goat cheese. & red rice salad.

Salt Cod $25.99 lb
BACK IN! Like all the old-time grocery stores I grew up with in NY, we sell bulk salt cod from a wooden box.  

Use to make Brandade, a Tomato & Caper Salad, Croquettes.

 

 

La Maison de l’Escargot 2 Dozen Very Lg $14.99
After reading & researching, I found these for you. After a few emails with importer Doug Dussault, I knew I wanted his snails on our shelf. Doug is: “The sole importer of helix pomatia, the most succulent of edible snails, Dussault manages a team of foragers who look for the little mollusks in the wilds of France, Italy, Romania and the Czech Republic.” This particular variety are called “land lobsters” or the “Kobe beef of snails”, & served by Thomas Keller & Daniel Boulud. Simply the best escargot you can buy.

